The long awaited Greta Van Fleet album has arrived, powerful and showing once again to the public that Classic Rock never died, but it was actually reborn. After a long break the band decided this is the right time to release “The Battle At Garden’s Gate”. Finally!

As a fan myself, I can assure you, people have been looking forward to this album for a long time, since, after releasing the single “Always There”, the band stopped dropping new material for almost a year and a half. This is my personal Greta Van Fleet’s “The Battle At The Garden’s Gate” review and my comparison of it with the rest of the band’s discography.

Greta Gave Us A Masterpiece Once Again

Just like their previous albums, every single song has its own style at tells a different story to the listener, yet, somehow all the songs match with each other. So, it is fairly easy to tell Greta’s music apart from other artists’ work.

Even though Greta are considered to be a new band to the music industry, it is clear that all the members of the band have found their styles and have managed to put them all together to successfully create their band’s music.

On their interview on The LP Spree “Greta Van Fleet On The Ultimate Vinyl Haul”, where artists pick their favorite vinyls, it is impressive how all the members, even though they grew up together, they have different taste in music.

First Impressions

Honestly, at first I was really excited because I have been expecting an album from the band for a very long time – and the time had come. I listened to each and every song and I knew that waiting was a blessing. An artist needs time in order to be inspired and time favored Greta Van Fleet.

During quarantine, they must have had a load of ideas which came into hand for the album. The album really covers every style and side the band has showed to the crowd through time, from synthesizer and vocal harmonizing, to impressive drumming, Jake’s solos (how can one forget) and show – stopping bass lines, Greta did everything.

Second Thoughts

Overall, it was a very good album. All the elements Greta used to deliver this result really paid off. They seem to be four charismatic people who are here not only to remind this generation that Classic Rock lives and thrives nowadays, but also to do their own unique thing (which I can’t describe with words, Greta are too much, and that’s meant to be a good thing!)

There are some things I need to note down though. If I’m being completely honest with you, I expected a little more from Greta. Last month, the band dropped the music video for Heat Above, an amazing song of the album, which reflected another side of Greta, the one I was hoping to get more of in this album.

For “Heat Above” Greta experimented with a different style from theirs, abstained from their original ways and let their imagination get carried away by the limitless genre that Rock n’ Roll is, and this is a very good thing. For me, they could have incorporated a little more of that style in this album, besides it is a common and good thing for artists to slightly change styles and songs for their different albums.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think Greta should completely change or let their vintage and raw style get influenced, absolutely not! Nor should they try to imitate other Rock n’ Roll artists. I just wanted more experimentation, some more of Heat Above‘s breath of fresh air, something to prove that Rock n’ Roll still evolves and it doesn’t belong solely in the past.

Recommended Songs

Although I loved all the songs, I have some recommendations that will be stuck in my head for a long long time!

The Barbarians: Absolutely loved all the elements in this song. I’m especially glad they included synthesizer, but that’s just my personal preference. The vocals are insane, period! The guitar part is unforgettable, even if you listen to it only once. The song starts with synths and ends with the raw guitar part, beautiful!

Light My Love: Even if you’re not into Classic Rock, this song can easily become one of your favorites. It is just too catchy, I can’t even explain it. It gives off a “You’re the One” by Greta Van Fleet vibe, only different (listen and tell for yourselves). Definitely a song I will be jamming with on the summer sunsets, yes, it’s that type of Greta song.

Trip The Light Fantastic: Begins with synthesizer, but continues with that iconic for the Hard Rock lovers. I always love it when the Greta Van Fleet’s members harmonize singing together, and at this song it happens more than once. This song caught my impression from the first time I heard it, and that’s quite unusual for me, it usually takes me some time to get to like a song.

Do They Sound Like Led Zep?

I really believe that this started because of Josh’s Robert Plant-ish voice, not because of the style of the band. For example, Jimmy Page solos’ style is totally different from Jake Kiszka’s, many factors contributed to that, obviously. Led Zeppelin may have been Greta’s influence, but that’s because Led Zep changed the game in the Rock n’ Roll industry at that time. Greta are bringing a new wave of Classic Rock back, they are not copying or reminiscing anyone’s work.The Battle At Garden's Gate Vinyl

1. Heat Above

2. My Way, Soon

3. Broken Bells

4. Built By Nations

5. Age Of Machine

6. Tears Of Rain

7. Stardust Chords

8. Light My Love

9. Caravel

10. The Barbarians

11. Trip The Light Fantastic

12. The Weight Of Dreams

Listen And Tell Me Your Opinion

My Second Thoughts may have given the wrong impression to you, I loved the album. They truly did an amazing job with every song. I didn’t even think that Greta would ever disappoint with their work, and I was right. All of them are committed musicians and they shouldn’t be underestimated.

If you agree, disagree or simply want to add anything, please leave a comment down below and I will get back at you first chance that I get.

Please follow my Instagram account for music content every day: @allmusicandsound

Thank you!

3 Replies to “Greta Van Fleet’s “The Battle At Garden’s Gate” Review”

  1. Hey Domonique, 

    I like what you have shared. Always interested in trying new stuff. I had not heard of The Battle at Gardens Gate. I looked into them a bit and had a listen to a few songs. I wasn’t crazy about Heat Above but more enjoyed Trip The Light Fantastic. 

    It put me in mind of a mix between Rush and Led Zepplin if anything. I will be doing some more listening later, want to check out Barbarians and Light My Love. 

    Thanks for turning me on to them, will also read the review from the Rolling Stones Magazine. 


    1. Hello, 

      Thank you for commenting, I really appreciate. I’m glad you enjoyed Trip the Light Fantastic. I also agree with you, Greta share characteristics with Rush and Led Zeppelin. They are a great band, I’m happy you liked them!

      Rock on!


  2. I liked most of the album just from the start. However, I`ve never liked “My Way, Soon”.
    It took some time to like “Trip The Light Fantastic”, but now it`s just fine.

    After many lisens, I have still not fully got “The Weight of Dreams” under my skin. Some vocal parts are very intense, some guitar parts very similar to Led Zeppelin`s “Stairway to Heaven”, but I have no real objections to it. It still needs to grow on me.

    Anyway, at first listen, I knew this was a great album. There are a lot of details to catch your interest. First time I heard “Caravel” I was so amazed I could have applauded when the song was finished. -So timeless! -So early seventies! -My personal favourite on the album.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *